Provincial Awards 

Syl Apps Volunteer Achievement Award Recipients

(presented annually by the Province of Ontario to volunteers who have contributed to the development of sport in the province)

Year  Winner  City
2013 Gary Wren  St. Thomas 
2012  Joanne Mauthe  Toronto 
2011  Ron Hawthorne  Kanata 
2010 Heather Yeck Bright
2009 Pete Handley North Bay
2008 Lynda Turton Port Colborne
2006 Bob Weedon Chatham
2005 Carl Littlejohns Innerkip
2004 Pattie Sharpe Odessa
2002 Patricia Morris Sparling Stevensville
1996 Rosaline Hodgson Sarnia
1995 Don Hughes Mississauga
1986 Edwin Gliberry Don Mills
1985 Keith Fleming Oshawa
1984 Wilda Widmeyer Fergus
1982 Vincent Walker Port Perry
1982 Earl Sage Ayr
1981 George Wicke Rostock
1980 Pat Gilmour North Gower
1978 Bill Jacko  Virginiatown
1977 Bette Kalailieff Port Colborne
1976 James H. Hartnett Mount Elgin
1975 John G. Brady Oshawa
1974 Arthur Van Nest St. Catharines
1974 Roger Stewart Grimsby
1972 George Campbell Oshawa
1969 W. Lloyd Alguire St. Catharines


Rolf Lund Jule Nisse Award 

Presented annually, this award was named posthumously in honour of Rolf Lund, past Chair of the Sport Alliance of Ontario, this honour would be awarded to the volunteer who has made a "playground to podium" commitment to sport. The honouree would have served as a coach, official, a member of a mission team or served as a board member, with no expectation of return; just as Rolf Lund did repeatedly and all in the spirit of the "Jule Nisse".  A mythical figure celebrated throughout Nordic culture, the "Jule Nisse" watches over the "family" (in this case the sports family) throughout the year and rewards them for good actions at year's end seeking nothing in return but the joy of helping others. The Lund family fully embraced this philosophy.

Year Winner  City
2013 Marianne Allen  St. Catharines 
2011  Bette Kalailieff  Port Colborne 
2006 Lois Thompson Aurora


Corporate Citation 

This award is presented annually by the Province of Ontario to corporations that have been a leader in supporting sport through sustained corporate involvement over several years. 

Year  Corporation 
2013  Home Run Sports
2012  Residence & Conference Centre 
2009  Worth Canada 



Web Design Ottawa